Sault Photography
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Slide problems?

3 posters

Go down

Slide problems? Empty Slide problems?

Post by Guest Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:48 pm

Hey all.

This was my first time shooting slide film, so I didn't really know what to expect. I did however kinda expect better results than this though.

http://www.flickr.com/gp/80184463@N00/0466DQ

Theres a small set with some examples to show what I mean. The ones that show the mount were taken with my 30D, the ones without the border were scanned with the 'proper' equipment. Prints come out the same as these scans BTW (washed out/foggy, and just generally lacking any of the contrast that I had expected to see). I'm thinking that I did something wrong during the scan process, and since I'm new to this type of photography I was wondering if anyone had any tips for scanning/printing of slides. (I'm not looking for tips regarding the actual exposure/composition/whatever of the photograph, just the scanning/printing/output of the slides themselves.)

I'm very eager to give this type of film a try for my flash-lit skate and action shots, but I figured I should know ahead of time if I'm doing something wrong before I waste an opportunity to get a good trick.

Thanks Very Happy

Back to top Go down

Slide problems? Empty Re: Slide problems?

Post by Nando Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:51 pm

Does the film actually look like that or just the scans? How are you scanning the slides? When you photograph the slides with your 30D, how did you illuminate them?

Edit: Just wanted to add that I don't shoot slides but I have scanned them from friends using my Nikon Coolscan V scanner and Vuescan software. I've never had any trouble unless the shot was improperly exposed with the camera. Some slides dated back to the 1960's and they looked beautiful. I found slides to generally scan better than negatives and much less post-processing is required.
Nando
Nando