A Religious Experience

View previous topic View next topic Go down

A Religious Experience

Post by Kenneth Armstrong on Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:57 pm

So I have been shooting a lot of film lately, mostly black and white... mostly Ilford. Trying to stay out of a winter funk. I started shooting 2 extremes... Fuji NeoPan 1600 and Ilford PANF 50 Plus. One very fast, very grainy film and one very slow with almost no grain.

Soon after I started shooting Ilford HP5 400 because it was cheap and accessible for me. I have also toyed around with some Ilford FP4 125 and have been developing everything in Ilfosol S.

I kept reading about the split between people who love HP5 and Kodak TRI-X, both 400 speed films. Like many things there doesn't seem to be a middle ground. You either love one or the other. I decided to order 5 rolls of TRI-X and give it a fair shot.

So far I've developed 2 rolls, both in Ilfosol 3 (the only developer I currently have access to) and as soon as I hung them up to dry I fell in love. The contrast was just jumping out at me. They are very grainy, some is probably attributed to me using the wrong developer but I personally find it pleasing to the eye. That's one reason I am shooting B&W film... for the texture.

Maybe not quite a religious experience, but I certainly am excited to finish the last 3 rolls.

Comments and criticism not only welcome, but encouraged.

Kenneth Armstrong

View user profile http://www.flickr.com/photos/rubbergorilla/

Back to top Go down

Re: A Religious Experience

Post by thirdfloorgirl on Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:54 am

Oh I really like those!!!!! Especially the third one... looks kinda scary!

I used to shoot with TRI-X and loved it... The guy that was developping my rolls of film didn't understand why I liked it so much... Oh well... ;-)

Well done... got more to show us?
thirdfloorgirl

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by Nando on Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:13 pm